Time to Flex for Fit Friday!!!

Hello Stars!!

Happy FIT FRIDAY!

As a lover of Yoga and advocate for TOTAL health & wellness, today’s post is about flexibility.

Flexibility is often the forgotten component of physical fitness.

MYTH: Flexibility is not important unless I am a gymnast or yoga enthusiast.

Fact: There are five main components of physical fitness that are all equally important.

5-components-of-health-related-fitness

Flex Facts:
“Better flexibility may improve your performance in physical activities or decrease your risk of injuries by helping your joints move through their full range of motion and enabling your muscles to work most effectively. Stretching also increases blood flow to the muscle”. – www.mayoclinic.org

Livestrong.com also notes that flexibility can decrease back pain, improve posture, decrease stress and improve oxygen circulation in the body.

This is why flexibility is a big part of my fitness routine and also a main component of Soulance Sessions.

How often do you flex?!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

#KeepGlowing

Selah.

Very Truly Yours,

@Soulance.Gina

Follow me on Bloglovin!

39 thoughts on “Time to Flex for Fit Friday!!!

  1. You have a nice blog here. I have a yoga chart like the one in your slide show. I do yoga once a week. Do upper body with my husband 2x a week, lower body by myself 2 a week, and swimming 1x a week, walk at least 4x a week. I have to keep moving because I have lymphedema. I like to follow you to get tips. Since I have nerve damage to the ankles from my treatment, I don’t do balance on one foot too well, but I seem to improve. Please come back to visit and be in my community.
    https://theshowersofblessing.wordpress.com/about-me/

    Like

  2. Thanks for the images – I got a couple new ideas about flexing!

    You are right, it is important. I typically only flex before I do cardio or engage the workout machines at the gym. I wish I was half as flexible as you are !

    Like

    1. YW 🙂 Sometimes stretching before a workout isn’t good, if your muscles aren’t warmed up yet. It’s best to move around and do a warm up for at least 3-5 minutes before stretching. Then stretch at the end of your workout when your muscles are warmest (to prevent injury). You do that and you will be as flexible as you want.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

